The Credit Union Philosophy

Not for profit, not for charity, but for service.

Our Mission

To support our local community with valuable services, in a friendly atmosphere, with caring employees who are committed to upholding the credit union philosophy.

Our History

Rooted in a history of humble beginnings, Sebasticook Valley Federal Credit Union has served and prioritized its members and the community for more than 70 years.


In 1953, the employees of Northeast Shoe Co. Inc. in Pittsfield, Maine formed a financial co-op, Maine Aire Federal Credit Union, to serve the employees and their immediate family members of the shoe factory and the credit union.

Named after a shoe made at Northeast Shoe Co., called the “Maine Aire,” the bylaws state that the credit union was formed “to promote thrift among its members, by affording them an opportunity for accumulation of their savings; and to create for them a source of credit for provident or productive purposes.” The credit union had a voluntary board of directors, voted in by the members of the credit union.


In 1968, the credit union became community-based and served anyone that lived, worked or worshipped in the towns of Pittsfield, Detroit, Burnham or Palmyra. To better reflect those that it served, the name of the credit union was changed to Peoples Regional Federal Credit Union in March of 1972. This was an attempt to change people’s perception of who could do business with the credit union — it was no longer only serving the shoe factory employees and was eager to grow.


In 1974, the towns of Hartland and St. Albans were added to the field of membership, and 10 years later, the field of membership was expanded to include the town of Newport. This would prove to be a very important move, as a few years later, the credit union opened a branch in Newport. In 1993, the Newport branch opened and has become an integral piece of Sebasticook Valley FCU’s continued growth and success.


In 2001, the field of membership once again expanded to include the towns of Plymouth, Stetson, Etna and Dixmont. It was around this time that the board and management considered changing the name of the credit union to reflect the area that it served. A year later, the name was officially changed to what it is known as today today: Sebasticook Valley Federal Credit Union.


In November of 2010, the towns of Corinna, Dexter, Exeter, Garland, Cambridge, Harmony and Ripley were added to the communities served.


In June of 2018, Sebasticook Valley FCU expanded their field of membership to include all of Penobscot, Somerset and Waldo Counties.


The field of membership was expanded again in 2021 to include Franklin, Kennebec and Piscataquis counties.


In 2023, Sebasticook Valley Federal Credit Union celebrated 70 years of service, proudly serving communities across six counties in the heart of Maine and providing financial resources for more than 11,000 members.

Sebasticook Valley FCU serves Franklin, Kennebec, Penobscot, Piscataquis